Fashion lesson #1

United Kingdom(Great Britain)

They say you never stop learning. And it is true for every area of your life, including fashion. Stylists, fashion bloggers or designers are not infallible. They also make mistakes, but one of the greatest feats of all is not to make the same mistake again, if you do – it won’t be forgiven the second time. I won’t call a mistake what happened to me recently, but it was a painful lesson I learned that helped me draw some conclusions for the future. I think it would be useful for you too, so don’t be terrified of the length of the text.

About two weeks ago the company I work for organised an annual conference. It took place outside of London so it was kind of weekend trip from Monday to Tuesday. During the conference (that together with all presentations and team building activities lasted actually whole day long)we were supposed to wear something in smart casual style, whereas a smart outfit was de rigueur during the dinner that took place after the conference.

Couldn’t be more simple – just to outfits. Especially for men – for them such trip is a piece of cake.  2 shirts,  a jacket, trousers and a jumper are what they actually need to look good, because what else can they wear anyway? We women have much more difficult task. We try to focus on every little detail – and this is our problem. When we think of any  outfit we automatically think about jewellery, hair, make-up – everything. So a simple, short trip becomes a 1-week journey in our heads. So it was more or less the same with me this time. Here is the story…

I started to prepare quite earlier, about 1 month before the conference, when I bought black jumpsuit I planned to wear during the dinner. I left the smart casual outfit for the end – I knew that it will consist of trousers and shirt so it was not a big deal anyway. When I tried on the jumpsuit it turned out that it needs some alterations because it had too much material on the left side. However, I did not care about it much cause it was not an ordinary jumpsuit – it was one-shoulder jumpsuit  – a rare thing in stores right now, so I bought it without hesitation.

I wanted to go to tailor in Poland during my Christmas stay due to lower costs. However, I had to give up the idea because I got sick from the very beginning so my plan misfired. After I got back to London there were still less than 2 weeks ahead of the conference, but I went to the tailor 2 days before the event, cause, as I thought then, did not have time for this. These were short moments of terror shall I say because the tailor said he was not sure if he could make it so in the meantime I was preparing plan B. But finally he called me next day saying the jumpsuit is waiting for me. What I needed now were final finishing touches so I went shopping on Sunday to buy some cosmetics and swimsuit top, because there was a swimming pool in the hotel so we were hoping to use it.

Plan A smart outfit for dinner: black one shoulder jumpsuit

Plan A smart outfit for dinner: black one shoulder jumpsuit

I got back home around 7 p.m. so I decided that I will pack only the most necessary things like cosmetics, underwear, clothes for 2 days (fashion rule#1: never wear the same thing you had on you the previous day!). Smart casual outfit was quite easy – white shirt and black faux leather trousers plus black boots. So, I was ready to go! I just left some things to pack in the morning, like make-up cosmetics and…black heels to wear with the jumpsuit that were packed in white box under the desk – and went to bed.

I woke up at 5:00 a.m. I was supposed to met my colleague at 6:45 a.m. in the underground station, but I needed more time as always in the morning when I have to put on my eye lenses, make up and do my hair – without this I will not leave my home.  When we finally met in the underground we took escalator and got into our train to King’s Cross where we changed to Metropolitan line. During the journey we talked about our preparations to the trip when suddenly I realized that I did not take my black heels! How could I forget about such an important thing, I said to myself. Of course, it was too late to get back home as we were just in the middle of our journey. I was standing confused for a second still asking myself how could that happen when finally my colleague suggested that actually I can wear my boots to the jumpsuit according to the rule ‘nobody will notice it anyway’. OK, here is fashion rule #2:  Don’t think that people (even if they will get drunk soon) will not notice what you are wearing, fashion rule #3: Always wear heels and only heels to jumpsuits. I tried to repeat those words of wisdom in my head and realized I was in a fix. I could say good bye to my jumpsuit that rescued by the tailor. The only thing I could think about now was: What the heck I will put on myself for dinner? And there was only one option – changing clothes in the train. So instead of white shirt I put a loose grey sweatshirt on that I was supposed to wear next day. Trousers, unfortunately, stayed the same.  These are the consequences of leaving things for the last minute. Fortunately enough, I took separate jewellery for white shirt and jumpsuit so it was just as well. And here is the whole dinner outfit:

Fotor0129153414

and smart casual version:

_DSC0014

What conclusions can we draw from this story?

  1. Never leave anything for the last minute
  2. Try to prepare all your clothes before a great day and always have your Plan B just in case!
  3. Clothes in neutral, classic colours are the best choice for any trip, event, journey when you don’t have access to your wardrobe. They are easy to mix and match  – e.g. when you have to change one or two items if you spill the wine on your shirt or trousers.
  4. Prepare separate jewellery for every outfit – remember that silver looks better during the day and save gold for night.
  5. Never ever forget about shoes, especially those for dinner or party. Remember that smart casual is not the same as smart
  6. The last but not least – always keep in mind basic fashion rules (#1,2 and 3 you can find in the text).

Poland

Mówią, że człowiek uczy się przez całe swoje życie. Dotyczy to każdej dziedziny życia, w tym i mody. Styliści, blogerzy mody czy projektanci to nie osoby wszystko wiedzące. Także oni popełniają błędy lub gafy, sęk jednak w tym, by nie popełnić ich po raz drugi, wtedy byłyby już mniej wybaczalne. Tego, co przydarzyło mi się ostatnio, nie zaliczałabym do kategorii błędów jako takich, ale była to lekcja na tyle dotkliwa, iż wyciągnęłam z niej pewne wnioski na przyszłość . Myślę, że przyda się i Wam, bo przecież lepiej uczyć się na cudzych błędach niż na swoich.

Około dwóch tygodni temu firma, dla której pracuję zorganizowała konferencję podsumowującą kolejny rok swojej działalności. Odbywała się poza Londynem, więc była to swego rodzaju wycieczka weekendowa z poniedziałku na wtorek. Podczas konferencji, która wraz z prezentacjami oraz pracą grupową trwała właściwie cały dzień, obowiązywał strój w stylu smart casual (dyskretna elegancja), z kolei na kolacji ją kończącej – styl elegancki, czyli smart.

Właściwie nic prostszego, tylko 2 stroje. Zwłaszcza dla mężczyzn, dla których taki wypad to bułka z masłem – wystarczą 2 koszule, marynarka, spodnie, jakiś sweter i gotowe. Kobiety mają, jak zawsze w przypadku mody, utrudnione zadanie. Nie chodzi tu o to, że brak jest na rynku ubrań dla płci pięknej, a raczej o samą naturę kobiety. Ponieważ my przywiązujemy wagę do każdego szczegółu – i tu tkwi problem. Bo do kreacji trzeba dodać odpowiednią biżuterię, akcesoria, kolor paznokci itd. Więc prosty, krótki wypad w naszej głowie zamienia się w co najmniej 1-tygodniową podróż. I tak było i w moim przypadku.

Przygotowania rozpoczęłam dosyć wcześnie, bo na miesiąc przed wyjazdem, kupując czarny kombinezon, który miałam włożyć podczas kolacji. Stwierdziłam, że kreację w stylu smart-casual wymyślę na poczekaniu. Na pewno w grę wchodziły spodnie na wypadek, gdyby było chłodno, a wyjazd miał miejsce wczesnym rankiem. Podczas przymierzania okazało się jednak, że kombinezon nadaje się do poprawki dla krawca, ponieważ po jednej stronie miał zbyt dużo materiału. Machnęłam na to ręką, bo był to kombinezon niezwykły, bo na jedno ramię, a takie rzeczy ostatnio są rzadkością w sklepach, więc kupiłam go bez wahania.

Do krawcowej chciałam się udać już w Polsce, do której poleciałam na Święta Bożego Narodzenia, jednak z powodu nagłej choroby moje plany spaliły na panewce, a byłoby taniej. Po powrocie do Londynu zostało jeszcze sporo czasu do konferencji, bo niecałe 2 tygodnie. Ale do krawca udałam się dopiero 2 dni przed samym wyjazdem, ponieważ, jak mi się wtedy wydawało, nie miałam czasu. Były to krótkie chwile grozy, bo nie wiedziałam, czy uda mu się zebrać nadmiar materiału to jeszcze tak, by kombinezon leżał na mnie jak ulał. Gdy się okazało, że to zrobił odetchnęłam z ulgą, bo już miałam w głowie plan B, czyli czarno-białą sukienkę. W sobotę kreacja była już gotowa do odbioru, pozostawały jeszcze ostateczne „małe” zakupy w niedzielę przed wyjazdem, które obejmowały zakup kilku kosmetyków oraz topu do spodenek na basen, z którego miałyśmy nadzieję z koleżankami skorzystać podczas pobytu w całym kompleksie.

Z zakupów wróciłam ok. 19:00, więc stwierdziłam, że spakuję tylko najpotrzebniejsze rzeczy: kosmetyki, bieliznę, ubrania na 2 dni (modowa zasada nr. 1 – nigdy nie wkładaj ubrań, które miałeś/-aś na sobie poprzedniego dnia!). Strój smart casual był prosty – biała koszula i czarne spodnie ze sztucznej skóry, do tego czarne botki i już. Byłam spakowana! Część rzeczy zostawiłam do spakowania na rano, typu kosmetyki i… szpilki do  kombinezonu, które znajdowały się w pudełku na wierzchu. Tak przygotowana poszłam spać.

Pobudka w poniedziałek o 5:00. Umówiłam się wcześniej z koleżanką co prawda na 6:45 na stacji metra, ale jak to ja – nie wyjdę z domu bez makijażu, soczewek kontaktowych i oczywiście ułożonych włosów, których prostowanie trochę mi zajmuje. Gdy już spotkałyśmy się na stacji, szybko zjechałyśmy schodami w dół do pociągów i udałyśmy się w stronę stacji King’s Cross, gdzie przesiadłyśmy się na linię Metropolitan. W czasie drogi rozmawiałyśmy o przygotowaniach do wyjazdu, która z nas jak się pakowała i jakie miała w związku z tym przygody, gdy nagle uświadomiłam sobie, że nie wzięłam czarnych szpilek do kombinezonu! O zgrozo – pomyślałam – jak mogłam zapomnieć o tak ważnej rzeczy? Oczywiście na powrót było już za późno, byłyśmy w połowie drogi. Chwilę stałam zmieszana, zadając sobie pytanie: jak to się mogło stać, w tle słyszałam pocieszającą mnie koleżankę, że właściwie  mogę do kombinezonu założyć moje czarne botki, które miałam na sobie w myśl zasady „i tak nikt nie zauważy”. Otóż to byłby już cios poniżej pasa, ponieważ: zasada modowa nr 2 – nigdy nie myśl, że ktoś nie zauważy tego, co masz na sobie i ewentualnych niedociągnięć, nawet jeśli ta osoba wkrótce będzie pijana, zasada modowa nr 3 – do kombinezonu zawsze zakładaj szpilki i tylko szpilki! Powtarzając sobie w głowie te mądrości, uświadomiłam sobie, że jestem w totalnej kropce. Mogłam pożegnać się z moim „uratowanym” u krawca kombinezonem. Pozostawała kwestia, co założyć na kolację, żeby wyglądać elegancko. Miałam tylko jedną opcję – przebrać się jeszcze w metrze. Musiałam tylko zamienić białą koszulę na szarą, luźną bluzę, w która miała być na drugi dzień, spodnie (niestety) pozostały te same. Niestety oto konsekwencje pakowania się w ostatniej chwili. Bogu dzięki wzięłam osobną biżuterię i do kombinezonu i do białej koszuli, więc, można powiedzieć, że byłam uratowana. Ostatecznie całość wyglądała jak powyżej:)

Jakie wnioski można wyciągnąć z tej lekcji?

Przed wyjazdem/ważnym spotkaniem/przyjęciem/kolacją:

  1. Nie zostawiaj wszystkiego na ostatnią chwilę
  2. Postaraj się skompletować strój kilka dni przed wyjazdem i zawsze miej w pogotowiu plan B!
  3. Najlepiej wybierz ubrania w kolorach neutralnych, klasycznych – czarnym, białym, granatowym, szarym. Łatwo jest je do siebie dopasować, gdy wystąpi konieczność wymiany jednej lub nawet dwóch rzeczy, np. z powodu zalania bluzki lub spodni winem.
  4. Do każdej kreacji miej przygotowaną osobną biżuterię – srebrna może być dobra na dzień, złota lepiej prezentuje się wieczorem.
  5. Nigdy nie zapominaj o butach, zwłaszcza tych na kolację lub przyjęcie. Pamiętaj, że styl smart casual to nie to samo co smart!
  6. Pamiętaj o podstawowych zasadach modowych (zasady nr 1,2 i 3 zostały omówione w tekście).
This entry was published on January 29, 2014 at 3:56 pm. It’s filed under Events, Fashion, Look of the Day, Look of the Day, Must haves and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

